Best Advanced Standing MSW Programs in Virginia (2027)
Updated August 29, 202621 min read

Best Advanced Standing MSW Programs in Virginia (2027)

Compare CSWE-accredited accelerated MSW options by cost, format, and flexibility for BSW graduates across Virginia.

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • No Virginia CSWE-accredited MSW program requires the GRE for 2026 admission.
  • Most advanced standing students finish in 9 to 15 months of full-time study.
  • Virginia demands 3,000 post-degree supervised clinical hours for LCSW licensure.

Six CSWE-accredited advanced standing MSW programs operate in Virginia, and most compress the degree into 30 to 39 credits, roughly half the coursework of a traditional MSW. For BSW graduates, that translates to finishing in as little as nine to fifteen months of full-time study.

What Virginia Offers

The state's options span public research universities and private institutions, with programs delivered on campus, online, and in hybrid formats. Total tuition ranges from about $13,200 for in-state students at the most affordable programs to over $40,000 at out-of-state or private schools.

Virginia's 3,000-hour supervised clinical requirement for LCSW licensure is among the steepest in the country, which makes the quality of a program's field placement network a material factor in how quickly a graduate reaches independent practice.

Virginia's Top Advanced Standing MSW Programs, Ranked by Value

Virginia's advanced standing MSW market is small and concentrated: five CSWE-accredited programs carry BSW graduates straight into a specialization year, and each one trades off cost, format, and speed differently. They are ordered below by overall institutional value, and every entry flags where program-level earnings data is still unpublished so you know exactly what the numbers can and cannot tell you.

RankSchoolLocationNet priceBest for
#1
George Mason University
Fairfax, VA$15,000 – $20,000/yrNorthern Virginia learners wanting flexible formats

George Mason is the largest and most flexible option in Virginia's advanced standing landscape. BSW graduates enter a 33-credit specialization year on campus, fully online, or in a hybrid format, choosing between Children, Youth & Families and Adults & Healthy Aging concentrations. The online track draws on practicum placements in more than 400 partner agencies, and the Fairfax location puts students inside one of the region's deepest behavioral health job markets. Program-level earnings for the MSW are not yet published; institution-wide figures are the closest available read on return.

CSWE accredited
  • 33-credit specialization year for CSWE-accredited BSW graduates
  • Concentrations in Children, Youth & Families or Adults & Healthy Aging
  • 1,050 hours of supervised practicum experience reported by the program
  • Interprofessional education in multidisciplinary teams
  • Prepares graduates for clinical licensure in Virginia
  • Advanced standing applicants confirm intent by April 15 for practicum placement
  • On-campus Fall application deadline: December 15
  • Also delivered in hybrid and online formats
CSWE accredited
  • $795 per credit across a 33-credit advanced standing sequence
  • Asynchronous online classes with rolling admissions
  • Online Fall application deadline: July 1
  • 3.2 GPA minimum and two letters of recommendation
  • Practicum placements available in over 400 agencies
  • Employment-based practicum option for working students
  • Child Welfare Stipend of $10,000 per year
  • $75 application fee; financial aid and scholarships available

Radford's advanced standing MSW takes CSWE-accredited BSW graduates into a 40-credit specialization year, offered full time across four semesters or part time across six. A mandatory summer bridge course eases the jump from undergraduate work, and the curriculum leans clinical, pairing biopsychosocial assessment and integrative seminar coursework with field education. The program sits inside the Waldron College of Health and Human Services, with placements spanning healthcare, mental health, and school settings across southwest Virginia. Program-level earnings data is not yet published for the MSW.

CSWE accredited
  • 40-credit advanced standing program for CSWE-accredited BSW holders
  • Finish in four semesters full time or six semesters part time
  • Mandatory summer bridge course before the specialization year
  • 2.8 GPA minimum for admission
  • Coursework in biopsychosocial assessment, social welfare policy, and research
  • Clinical practice and integrative seminar required
  • Field education delivered in both clinical and seminar settings
  • Prepares graduates for advanced clinical roles in health and school settings

Virginia State's hybrid advanced standing MSW is built around trauma-informed practice, with a 45-credit sequence that starts in summer, includes a required research capstone, and adds more than 200 clinical field hours. Eligibility is the tightest in this group: a CSWE-accredited BSW earned within the last five years, a 3.5 BSW GPA, and a B or better in undergraduate field practicums. The Petersburg campus serves central and southside Virginia, and the program emphasizes social and economic justice alongside licensure preparation.

CSWE accredited
  • 45-credit advanced standing sequence delivered in a hybrid format
  • Trauma-informed practice focus woven through the curriculum
  • Starts in summer with a defined advanced standing sequence
  • Required research capstone project
  • Clinical field practicum of more than 200 hours
  • BSW must be CSWE-accredited and earned within the last five years
  • 3.5 BSW GPA plus a B or better in undergraduate field practicums
  • Applicants from other majors are not eligible for advanced standing

Norfolk State offers the shortest completion window in this group on paper: a 30-credit advanced generalist MSW that full-time students finish in two semesters, backed by 546 field practicum hours in child welfare, mental health, or school social work. Admission requires a 3.0 GPA and 400 hours of BSW field experience, and applicants must apply within five years of earning the BSW. The Norfolk campus sits in Hampton Roads, a large employer market for clinical and school-based social work.

CSWE accredited
  • 30-credit advanced standing MSW completed in two semesters
  • Advanced generalist practice focus
  • 546 hours of supervised field practicum
  • Placements in child welfare, mental health, and school social work
  • 3.0 GPA minimum plus 400 hours of BSW field experience
  • Apply within five years of BSW graduation
  • Fall and spring starts with a May 1 application deadline
  • Prepares graduates for LCSW licensure

Virginia Union's advanced standing track carries the smallest credit load here: 24 credits finished in one academic year. The Richmond program centers on trauma-informed advanced generalist practice across micro, mezzo, and macro levels, with field education integrated throughout rather than saved for a final term. Full-time and part-time enrollment are both available, and the university reports financial aid and scholarships. As a private institution, its listed tuition sits at the high end of this group.

CSWE accredited
  • 24-credit program completed in one academic year
  • Trauma-informed advanced generalist practice focus
  • Full-time and part-time enrollment options
  • Practice across micro, mezzo, and macro levels
  • Field education integrated across the program
  • Prepares graduates for social justice advocacy roles
  • Financial aid and scholarships available

Accelerated MSW, One-Year MSW, Advanced Standing: The Same Program

Is an 'accelerated MSW' the exact same path as an 'advanced standing' track in Virginia? In virtually every case, the answer is yes. These labels all point to the shortened master's route for applicants who already hold a CSWE-accredited BSW. Instead of repeating foundation content you completed during your BSW, advanced standing programs let you dive into concentration coursework immediately, shrinking the total credits by roughly half and the timeline to about one calendar year.

What Virginia Schools Call the Program

Virginia's universities use several names, but the path is identical. George Mason University labels it the "Advanced Standing MSW." Virginia Commonwealth University offers the "Advanced Standing" option in both on-campus and online formats. Norfolk State University uses "Advanced Standing" to describe its 30-credit pathway. Radford University and Christopher Newport University also refer to their BSW-to-MSW tracks as "Advanced Standing." Some program pages use phrases like "one-year MSW" or "accelerated MSW" in their marketing, but the underlying structure, a condensed, full-time program bypassing the generalist foundation year, is the same. All require a recent CSWE-accredited BSW and strong academic standing.

What Does NOT Qualify as Advanced Standing

A bachelor's in psychology, sociology, or human development does not qualify, even if you took social-work-related courses. A BSW from a program not accredited by CSWE also won't meet the requirement. Additionally, most Virginia schools enforce a recency window, commonly five to seven years, meaning if your BSW is older than that, you may need to repeat the foundational curriculum or apply to a traditional two-year MSW. If you do not hold a qualifying BSW, you should explore traditional 60-credit MSW programs rather than the advanced standing route.

The Takeaway

When you see "Accelerated MSW," "One-Year MSW," "12-Month MSW," or "Advanced Standing," they all describe the same efficient path: roughly 30 to 39 credits completed full-time in about a year, exclusively for BSW holders.

How Quickly Can You Finish an Advanced Standing MSW in Virginia?

How long does it take to complete an advanced standing MSW in Virginia? The short answer is that most CSWE-accredited programs fall between 30 and 39 credits, which full-time students typically finish in 9 to 15 months. But your actual timeline hinges on program structure, start term, and whether you choose a full-time or part-time path.

Full-Time vs. Part-Time Timelines

In Virginia, the clearest example is VCU’s MSW program options, which include a 12-month, full-time-only advanced standing track beginning each summer and running through spring. If you need a slower pace, Radford stands out by explicitly offering weekends and evening classes, though the exact length of its part-time advanced standing option is not publicly specified in exact months. Virginia State's Master of Social Work Program also states a part-time sequence is available, but the precise advanced standing completion timeline isn’t detailed. George Mason’s MSW program lists 33 credits for advanced standing, while Liberty and Norfolk State require 31 and 30 credits respectively; none of these schools publish part-time versus full-time completion lengths.

  • Full-time pace: Generally 9, 15 months, with VCU at 12 months.
  • Part-time pace: Likely extends to 2 years or more where offered (Radford, potentially Virginia State), but exact durations are not universally confirmed.

Start Dates and Calendar Impact

Your start term can compress or stretch the timeline significantly. A summer-start cohort, like VCU’s, lets you tackle foundational courses before fall, often shaving a full semester off the overall calendar compared to a fall-only start. Fall-start programs, by contrast, may spread the same credits over a longer stretch because summer terms typically aren’t used. If you’re eyeing an online option, Virginia State offers its advanced standing program in both campus and online formats, which can add scheduling flexibility, though the length in months remains the same.

Summer-Intensive Formats

Some schools mention accelerated or intensive formats that condense coursework into shorter blocks. While Liberty and VCU are frequently cited for such options, concrete details on week-by-week pacing or resulting length are not fully spelled out in public materials. If speed is your priority, contact programs directly to ask whether they run summer-intensive institutes or compressed summer sessions that reduce seat time without sacrificing CSWE requirements.

Online, Campus, or Hybrid: Comparing Virginia's Advanced Standing MSW Formats

Choosing the right delivery format can shape your daily schedule, commute, professional network, and even your bottom line. Most Virginia advanced standing MSW programs run on campus, but a few offer hybrid or flexible online options that let you keep working while you earn your degree. Below is a side-by-side look at how the three formats compare across the dimensions that matter most to BSW graduates.

DimensionCampus (In Person)HybridOnline
Virginia schools in this formatGeorge Mason University, Radford University, Norfolk State University, Virginia Union UniversityVirginia State UniversityGeorge Mason University offers online and hybrid formats alongside its campus option; no other Virginia advanced standing program is fully online
Schedule flexibilityLowest: fixed class meeting times, typically weekday daytime or evening blocksModerate: some coursework completed asynchronously online, with periodic on-campus intensives or weekend sessionsHighest: most lectures and assignments are asynchronous, letting you study around a full-time job
Peer interaction and networkingStrongest: daily face-to-face collaboration, study groups, and faculty office hoursMixed: online classmates connect through discussion boards and video calls, with in-person cohort bonding during campus sessionsRequires more intentional effort; programs use virtual seminars, group projects, and cohort-based discussion forums to build community
Field placement logisticsArranged through the university's field education office at approved agency sites, almost always in or near the school's region of VirginiaField placements are completed in person at approved agencies; students may have some flexibility in selecting a site closer to homeYes, online students must still complete field placement hours in person at a supervised agency. Most programs require that placements occur in Virginia or in a state where the school holds authorization
Tuition considerations (in-state, approximate)Ranges from roughly $13,200 at Virginia State to about $18,000 at George Mason per the published program tuition. Norfolk State and Radford fall in between, near $13,400 to $13,800. Virginia Union charges roughly $17,500 regardless of residency.Virginia State's hybrid program lists approximately $13,200 for in-state studentsGeorge Mason's online option carries the same per-credit rate as its campus program, so expect comparable total tuition near $18,000 in-state
Best fit forStudents who want immersive classroom learning, easy access to faculty, and strong local networking in VirginiaWorking professionals who want a mix of online convenience and periodic in-person engagementBSW graduates balancing employment or caregiving responsibilities who need maximum scheduling control, while still completing supervised field hours in person

What You Need to Get In: Admissions Requirements by School

Here is good news for BSW graduates eyeing an advanced standing MSW in Virginia: as of 2026, none of the six CSWE-accredited programs in the state require the GRE. That removes a significant barrier (and expense) from the application process. One important detail to flag is that George Mason University enforces a five-year BSW recency rule, meaning your BSW must have been conferred within the last five years to qualify for advanced standing. Other programs in the state do not publicly specify a recency cutoff, but you should always verify directly with admissions offices because policies can change. If your GPA falls slightly below the stated minimum at a given school, contact the program to ask whether a conditional admission path exists.

SchoolGRE Required?Minimum GPABSW Recency RuleConditional Admission?
George Mason UniversityNo3.20BSW earned within 5 yearsNot publicly stated
Liberty UniversityNo2.75Not publicly specifiedNot publicly stated
Norfolk State UniversityNo3.00Not publicly specifiedNot publicly stated
Radford UniversityNo2.75Not publicly specifiedNot publicly stated
Virginia Commonwealth UniversityNo3.00Not publicly specifiedNot publicly stated
Virginia State UniversityNo3.00Not publicly specifiedNot publicly stated

Questions to Ask Yourself

  1. Do you need an evening, weekend, or asynchronous format so you can keep working while earning your MSW?

    Advanced standing programs in Virginia range from fully online to traditional daytime campus schedules. Choosing the wrong format can force you to cut your income or extend your timeline, so match the delivery model to your current work commitments before you apply.

  2. Are you drawn to clinical practice with individual clients, or do you see yourself in macro social work such as policy, administration, or community organizing?

    Not every Virginia program offers both tracks in its advanced standing pathway. Identifying your specialization interest now prevents you from enrolling somewhere that lacks the concentration you actually want.

  3. Can you complete field placement hours near where you live, or would your target program require you to relocate?

    Some programs arrange placements only within a specific region of Virginia, while others let students secure approved sites closer to home. If relocation is not feasible, confirm placement flexibility before committing to a program.

Field Placement Hours and Flexibility at Each Virginia Program

How many field placement hours will you actually need to complete as an advanced standing MSW student in Virginia, and can you do them close to home?

CSWE accreditation requires a minimum of 900 total field hours across the full MSW curriculum, but advanced standing students receive credit for the generalist practicum completed during their BSW. That means your remaining requirement covers only the advanced or concentration-level placement. The exact number varies by school, and the differences are large enough to affect your timeline and workload.

Required Field Hours by Program

  • George Mason University: 600 hours for advanced standing students.
  • Virginia Commonwealth University: 750 hours, the highest requirement among the Virginia programs reviewed here.
  • Radford University: 600 hours.

VCU's 750-hour requirement is notably above the floor most programs set. If you are weighing two programs side by side and time is your most constrained resource, that 150-hour gap translates into several additional weeks of placement work.

Geographic Flexibility for Online Students

If you are enrolled in an online MSW and live outside the Richmond or Northern Virginia corridor, placement logistics deserve close attention before you commit.

VCU's online MSW includes a dedicated VCU Online M.S.W. Field Education component, though the university does not publish a specific geographic boundary or an explicit out-of-state limitation in its public materials. George Mason's online program allows students to pursue practicum arrangements through Mason Online, yet the program similarly does not advertise a defined radius or blanket out-of-state approval. Radford requires field placements but has not published detailed placement geography guidelines for its online learners in publicly available catalog language.

The practical takeaway: contact each program's field education office directly and confirm whether your intended placement location is eligible before you accept an offer of admission. Waiting until you are mid-program to discover a geographic conflict can delay graduation by a full semester.

Employer-Based Placements for Working Professionals

George Mason stands out here. George Mason's Mason Online MSW program permits an Employment-Based Practicum for students whose current employer and on-site supervision arrangement meet the program's requirements. This option lets you count structured learning at your existing agency toward your field hours, which can eliminate the need to reduce your work schedule or take unpaid leave.

Neither VCU nor Radford advertises an equivalent employer-based pathway in their publicly available program descriptions, though policies can change from year to year. If completing your placement at your current job is a deciding factor, George Mason's documented EBP track gives you the most transparent path forward.

Before finalizing your application list, map out not just the number of hours each program requires, but where and how you will complete them. A program with 600 required hours and an employer-based option could demand far less disruption to your life than one requiring 750 hours at an unfamiliar agency across the state.

Tuition, Debt, and Financial Aid: What Virginia Advanced Standing MSW Programs Actually Cost

Tuition for advanced standing MSW programs in Virginia varies dramatically depending on the school and your residency status. In-state students can pay as little as roughly $13,200 for their total program tuition, while out-of-state rates at some universities exceed $40,000. Median graduate debt at these institutions ranges from about $19,500 to $29,000, so choosing a lower-cost program or securing financial aid can meaningfully reduce your post-graduation burden. Most Virginia programs offer graduate assistantships, tuition waivers, or departmental scholarships, and BSW graduates should also explore Title IV-E child welfare stipends and employer tuition reimbursement.

In-state versus out-of-state advanced standing MSW tuition at five Virginia universities, ranging from $13,218 to $40,308 in 2023

Clinical Vs. Macro Tracks: Specializations Available in Virginia

Choosing between clinical and macro social work is one of the most consequential decisions you will make before submitting a single application, because it shapes not only your coursework but also your licensure pathway and long-term career trajectory.

What the Clinical Track Covers

A clinical concentration, sometimes labeled "direct practice" or "mental health," prepares you to work one-on-one or in small groups with individuals and families. Coursework typically centers on psychopathology, evidence-based therapeutic interventions, crisis response, child welfare, and biopsychosocial assessment. If your goal is to earn the Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) credential in Virginia, you need to complete a clinical track. The Virginia Board of Social Work requires that LCSW candidates demonstrate supervised clinical training at the graduate level, and a macro-focused degree alone will not satisfy that requirement.

What the Macro Track Covers

Macro concentrations focus on the systems that surround individuals rather than individual treatment. Expect coursework in community organizing, social policy analysis, program evaluation, nonprofit administration, and advocacy. Graduates typically move into leadership roles in government agencies, advocacy organizations, or large health and human services systems. A macro track can still lead to the Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW) credential, but it does not position you for clinical licensure.

Which Virginia Schools Offer Which Tracks

Not every advanced standing program in Virginia provides a clear choice between the two paths. Here is what the current landscape looks like:

  • George Mason University: Offers two concentration options and explicitly prepares graduates for clinical licensure, making it a strong fit if you want flexibility between direct practice and broader systems work.
  • Norfolk State University: Centers on an Advanced Generalist practice model with 546 clinical hours, preparing students for LCSW licensure while still exposing them to community-level practice.
  • Virginia State University: Emphasizes trauma-informed practice with a clinical field practicum, and the program highlights a social and economic justice lens that bridges micro and macro perspectives.
  • Virginia Union University: Uses a trauma-informed advanced generalist framework that touches micro, mezzo, and macro practice levels, giving graduates broad exposure rather than deep specialization in one track.
  • Radford University: Focuses heavily on clinical practice with coursework in biopsychosocial assessment and a clinical integrative seminar, making it a natural choice for students committed to direct practice.

Match the Track to Your Career Goal

Before you invest time in applications, get clear on where you see yourself in five years. If you want to provide therapy, work in a hospital behavioral health unit, or run a private practice, you need a clinical track, full stop. If you are drawn to running a community development organization, shaping child welfare policy at the state level, or directing a nonprofit, a macro or generalist path may serve you better.

Keep in mind that some programs frame their curriculum as "advanced generalist," blending elements of both tracks. That can be an advantage if you are still exploring, but it may require you to seek additional clinical supervision hours post-graduation, if you later decide to pursue the LCSW. Ask each program directly how its graduates have fared in the Virginia licensure process, and request data on LCSW exam pass rates if available. That single data point will tell you more about clinical preparation than any marketing brochure.

From MSW to Licensed Social Worker: Virginia's LMSW and LCSW Pathways

Virginia's licensure ladder is the same whether you completed an advanced standing or traditional MSW. The Board of Social Work Examiners evaluates every applicant on a single set of education, examination, and supervised-practice criteria. Here is the path from graduation day to full clinical licensure.

Five-step credentialing sequence from MSW graduation through ASWB exams to LCSW licensure in Virginia, requiring 3,000 supervised clinical hours

Application Deadlines and Start Dates for 2027 to 2027

Timing matters when you apply to an advanced standing MSW program. Virginia Commonwealth University stands out with a summer start, which is the most common entry point for advanced standing cohorts nationally. Several other Virginia programs begin in fall and offer rolling admissions, giving you more flexibility. Always verify deadlines directly with each school, as dates can shift year to year.

SchoolPriority DeadlineFinal DeadlineCohort StartRolling Admission?
Virginia Commonwealth UniversityFebruary 5, 2026February 5, 2026Summer 2026No
George Mason UniversityDecember 15, 2026December 15, 2026Fall 2026Yes
Norfolk State UniversityNot publishedMay 1, 2026Fall 2026No
Radford UniversityNot publishedFall 2027 cycle (contact program for exact date)Not publishedYes
Virginia State UniversityNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published

Recent Articles

In this article
Share This:
LinkedIn
Reddit