Best Advanced Standing MSW Programs in Colorado (2027)
Updated August 29, 202620 min read

Best Advanced Standing MSW Programs in Colorado (2027)

Compare tuition, credit loads, timelines, and delivery formats across every CSWE-accredited advanced standing option in the state.

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • Advanced standing MSW programs in Colorado can be completed in 12 months full time.
  • Most Colorado programs require no GRE and accept BSWs earned within five to seven years.
  • Field placement requirements range from 500 to 900 hours depending on the school.

A traditional MSW requires over 60 credits. Advanced standing cuts that load to 30-42 credits for BSW graduates, halving both tuition and time. Colorado offers a modest but growing set of CSWE-accredited options, from fully online asynchronous courses to campus-based cohorts in Denver and Fort Collins. The state's licensure pipeline demands that the degree carries CSWE accreditation, so the list of qualifying advanced standing programs is short and competitive. For BSW holders ready to accelerate, the math works, but careful program selection determines whether the investment pays off.

Colorado Advanced Standing MSW Programs, Ranked by Value

Every Colorado advanced standing MSW on this list holds CSWE accreditation, so the differences that actually shape your experience come down to cost, format, and how well the schedule fits the life you already have. The four schools here stretch from Grand Junction to Pueblo to Denver and Colorado Springs, spanning a fully online option, a weekend program built around a full-time job, and campus cohorts with strong regional employer ties.

RankSchoolLocationNet priceBest for
#1
University of Colorado Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs, CO$16,000 – $27,000/yrTrauma-informed clinicians eyeing school social work

The University of Colorado Colorado Springs anchors advanced standing study in a city with one of the state's densest concentrations of military and behavioral health employers. The MSW advanced standing track is a 36-credit, CSWE-accredited program that starts in summer and moves through a modified cohort, with a school social worker endorsement and elective strength in military social work, child welfare, and trauma-informed practice. In-state tuition runs about $10,149 a year against roughly $24,336 for out-of-state students, and the school's overall graduation rate is 47%. Classes can be taken on campus, online, or in a hybrid mix.

CSWE accredited
  • CSWE-accredited, 36-credit program that starts in summer
  • Cohort-based structure available on campus, online, or hybrid
  • 2.8 GPA minimum with no entrance exam required
  • School Social Worker endorsement available
  • Trauma-informed social work practice concentration
  • Elective emphasis in military social work, child welfare, and behavioral health
  • Two letters of recommendation and prerequisite courses required
  • Scholarships available to admitted students

Colorado State University Pueblo built its advanced standing track for people who cannot stop working to earn a master's. The one-year MSW meets on alternating weekends, with Saturday classes in Colorado Springs and Sunday classes in Pueblo, plus 948 hours of field placement and CSWE accreditation held since 2019. In-state tuition is about $9,720 versus $17,944 for out-of-state students, and the average net price lands near $10,051. The school's overall graduation rate is 40%, and a fully online advanced standing pathway is slated to open in fall 2027.

CSWE accredited
  • One-year Advanced Standing track for CSWE-accredited BSW graduates
  • 948 required field placement hours
  • Biweekly Saturday classes in Colorado Springs, Sunday classes in Pueblo
  • CSWE accredited since 2019
  • No entrance exam required
  • Hybrid weekend format designed around full-time employment
  • Focus on policy advocacy, social justice, and systemic change
  • A fully online Advanced Standing pathway is planned for fall 2027

Colorado Mesa University in Grand Junction runs an intensive one-year advanced standing MSW with a deliberately small cohort. Students complete 44 credits and 600 supervised internship hours, with coursework in clinical supervision, advanced psychopathology, and electives in trauma, substance abuse, and crisis intervention. In-state tuition is roughly $9,927 and out-of-state about $25,124, with a net price near $15,103, and the school's overall graduation rate is 41%. Applicants must have earned a CSWE-accredited BSW within the last five years.

CSWE accredited
  • One-year, 44-credit Advanced Standing program
  • 600 supervised internship hours
  • BSW from a CSWE-accredited program required within the last five years
  • Cohort-based, in-person on the Grand Junction campus
  • Classes meet Tuesdays and Thursdays plus summer sessions
  • Prepares graduates for licensure in all 50 states
  • Electives in trauma, substance abuse, and crisis intervention
  • Coursework in clinical supervision and advanced psychopathology

Metropolitan State University of Denver puts advanced standing study where the jobs are: the state's largest metro and its biggest concentration of social service agencies. The 36-credit MSW advanced standing program starts in summer, runs full-time or part-time, and is offered fully online or in a mixed traditional format, with internships that can be completed in the student's own community. Eight elective pathways include mental health, children and families, and school social work. In-state tuition is about $11,124 against $30,684 for out-of-state students, the average net price sits near $15,327, and the school's overall graduation rate is 32%.

CSWE accredited
  • One-year, 36-credit program with a summer start
  • Full-time and part-time enrollment options
  • Fully online or mixed traditional delivery
  • Internships can be completed in your local community
  • 500 clinical hours plus a required capstone
  • Eight elective pathways, including Mental Health and School Social Work
  • Advanced standing open to BSW holders from the last six years
  • Designed for students balancing school with existing employment

Accelerated MSW, One-Year MSW, Advanced Standing: The Same Program

Is there a difference between an accelerated MSW and advanced standing? Not really: they are different labels for the same accelerated route reserved for graduates of a CSWE-accredited BSW program.

The Many Names for One Shortcut

Schools in Colorado use varying language for this pathway. Colorado State University’s website refers to its "Advanced Standing MSW" and frames it as a one-year, full-time program. The University of Denver’s Graduate School of Social Work calls it the "Advanced Standing MSW Program" and notes that students can complete the degree in as few as 10 to 12 months. Metropolitan State University of Denver labels the option the "BSW to MSW Advanced Standing track" and also highlights a 12-month completion timeline. Whether a program page says advanced standing, accelerated, one-year, or 12-month, the underlying deal is identical: your CSWE-accredited BSW waives the foundation year, leaving only the advanced coursework and field practicum.

In practical terms, this means roughly 30 to 39 credit hours instead of the traditional two-year path’s 60 credits. You are not getting a compressed version of the full curriculum; you are starting halfway through, alongside students who already completed their generalist year. That is why schools can confidently promise completion in a calendar year or less.

What Actually Qualifies, and What Does Not

To claim advanced standing, your BSW must come from a CSWE-accredited program. A bachelor’s in psychology, sociology, human services, or a related field does not qualify, no matter how relevant the coursework. Those applicants must apply to a traditional two-year MSW. Similarly, if your BSW was earned more than five to seven years ago, a common recency limit at Colorado schools, you may be directed to the standard program. Finally, a BSW from an institution without CSWE accreditation at the time of graduation generally cannot be used to waive the foundation year.

What you will see on application materials is a consistent message: if you hold a recent, CSWE-accredited BSW, you are eligible for the short route, no matter whether the university headlines it as advanced standing, accelerated, or one-year. The title differs; the shortcut is the same.

What Colorado Advanced Standing MSW Programs Really Cost

Tuition for advanced standing MSW programs in Colorado varies significantly depending on the school and whether you qualify for in-state rates. The figures below reflect published tuition for the full program at each institution, based on U.S. Department of Education data and program catalogs. Because advanced standing programs compress your timeline to roughly one year, total costs tend to be lower than a traditional two-year MSW, but the per-credit price still matters.

SchoolCityIn-State TuitionOut-of-State TuitionTotal CreditsDelivery Format
Colorado State University PuebloPueblo$10,064$16,684VariesHybrid (every other weekend)
Colorado Mesa UniversityGrand Junction$10,900$16,35944On-Campus
Metropolitan State University of DenverDenver$11,017$13,03336Hybrid (online and in-person options)
University of Colorado Colorado SpringsColorado Springs$15,704$27,21836On-Campus

Online, Hybrid, or On-Campus: Which Colorado Programs Offer What

One of the biggest sources of confusion for BSW graduates shopping Colorado advanced standing MSW programs is the word "online." Some schools use it to describe fully asynchronous coursework, while others mean a hybrid model that still pulls you to campus for weekend intensives or synchronous sessions. And regardless of how classes are delivered, every CSWE-accredited program requires in-person field placement hours, typically completed at an approved agency in your own community. If you are an out-of-state student drawn to a Colorado online option, understand that you will still need a local practicum site and should confirm the school can place students in your state.

SchoolCoursework DeliveryCampus Visits or Residencies Required?Field Placement FormatNotes for Out-of-State Students
University of DenverFully onlineNo required campus visits reportedIn-person at an approved site in your communityStrong option for remote learners; confirm field placement approval in your state before applying
Colorado State UniversityHybrid (asynchronous and synchronous online, plus in-person components)Yes: one in-person weekend and one synchronous weekend each semesterIn-person at an approved sitePlan for periodic travel to campus; not a fully remote experience
MSU DenverFully online track available; also offers a mixed traditional track combining on-campus and online coursesFully online track: no campus visits stated; mixed track includes on-campus courseworkIn-person at an approved site (can be completed locally)The fully online track is the better fit if you live outside the Denver metro area
UCCSListed as on-campus, online, and hybrid optionsNot specifiedIn-person at an approved siteContact the program directly to clarify which delivery format applies to the advanced standing cohort
CSU PuebloFully online (advanced standing launching fall 2027)No scheduled campus sessions requiredIn-person in the student's home communityDesigned for working professionals; confirm your state's eligibility before the 2027 launch
Colorado Mesa UniversityFormat not independently verifiedNot specifiedIn-person at an approved siteReach out to the program for current delivery details before applying

GPA, GRE, and BSW Recency: Admissions Requirements Side by Side

Before you start pulling together transcripts, it helps to know exactly what each Colorado program demands. The table below lays out the core admissions gatekeepers: minimum GPA, GRE policy, how recent your BSW must be, and any notable exceptions. Most Colorado programs have dropped the GRE entirely, but BSW recency limits vary significantly, so graduates who earned their bachelor's degree more than five years ago should pay close attention.

SchoolMin GPAGRE Required?BSW Recency LimitExceptions / Notes
Colorado State University3.0Waived7 yearsThe regular MSW track does not require a BSW or GRE. The advanced standing track specifically requires a CSWE-accredited BSW and enforces the 7-year recency window.
University of Denver2.5WaivedNoneNo recency limit on the BSW, making DU one of the more accessible options for graduates returning to the field after an extended break.
Metropolitan State University of DenverNot publishedWaivedNoneMSU Denver states that prerequisites do not expire, so there is no formal recency cap on your BSW.
Colorado State University Pueblo3.0Waived5 yearsAdvanced standing requires a CSWE-accredited BSW, a 3.0 GPA, and 120 hours of paid or volunteer social work experience within the last five years.
Colorado Mesa UniversityNot publishedNot published5 yearsCMU enforces a 5-year BSW recency requirement. Additional admissions criteria were not confirmed at the time of publication.

How Long Does an Advanced Standing MSW Take in Colorado?

Most Colorado advanced standing MSW programs launch with a summer-start cohort, letting BSW graduates begin coursework immediately after spring commencement. Full-time students can finish in as few as 12 months, while part-time options stretch to roughly two years. The University of Denver's online track is the exception, requiring 18 months full-time due to its higher credit load.

How Long Does an Advanced Standing MSW Take in Colorado?

Field Placement Hours and Practicum Structure by School

How many field placement hours do you actually need for an advanced standing MSW in Colorado, and who finds your internship site?

Field Hours by Program

Advanced standing field requirements range from 500 to 900 total hours, depending on how much credit a school grants for your BSW practicum. Each Colorado program outlines these expectations:

  • Colorado State University: 630 hours over a single internship across the two-year advanced standing track CSU’s online MSW degree page.
  • University of Denver: 500 total hours in one field placement1; a field placement specialist secures a school-approved site.
  • Metropolitan State University of Denver: 500 hours in the concentration year (250 per semester)MSU Denver’s MSW program options; advanced standing students bypass the generalist placement.
  • University of Colorado Colorado Springs: 900 total hours2 split into a 400-hour generalist placement and a 500-hour specialized placement.
  • Colorado Mesa University: 600 hours integrated across the 44-credit advanced standing curriculumColorado Mesa’s advanced standing MSW page.
  • CSU Pueblo: The advanced standing field hour total is not clearly published; confirm details with the program directly.

Who Arranges the Placement?

Only two programs explicitly state their placement process. The University of Denver assigns a field placement specialist who works with students to secure a school-approved site1. UCCS says students are "matched" with agencies2, indicating school-facilitated placement. For CSU, MSU Denver, Colorado Mesa, and CSU Pueblo, the process, whether the school places students or expects them to find their own site, is not made public in program materials. If this is a deciding factor, ask the field education office during your application.

Where Can You Complete Your Practicum?

Online programs generally allow students to complete field hours in their home community, provided the site meets CSWE standards and is approved by the school. On-campus programs in Colorado usually place students at agencies within the state. Common practicum settings across Colorado include hospitals, school districts, community mental health centers, VA facilities, child welfare agencies, and nonprofit organizations. Whether you are local or distance, expect to spend your placement in direct practice, case management, or macro-level work aligned with your concentration.

Concentrations and Specializations at Each Colorado School

Not every Colorado advanced standing MSW program structures its curriculum the same way. Some offer formal concentrations, others use an advanced generalist model with elective pathways or practice areas. The table below shows what each school offers as of 2026, so you can match your career goals to the right program.

SchoolProgram ModelConcentrations, Specializations, or Practice Areas
Colorado State UniversityAdvanced GeneralistNo formal concentrations. Electives and certificate options include Advanced Clinical Behavioral Health, Conflict Resolution and Mediation, Nonprofit Administration, PreK through 12 School Social Worker, and Social Aspects of Human-Animal Interactions.
University of Denver (Online)Concentration-BasedTwo pathways: Mental Health and Trauma, or Health, Equity and Wellness.
University of Denver (Western Colorado)Specialization-BasedAdvanced Social Work Practice with focus areas in rural practice, integrated health, ecological health and sustainability, community mental health, and child welfare.
Metropolitan State University of DenverConcentration-BasedSeven specialization options: Children and Families, Mental Health, Leadership and Management, School Social Work, Gerontological Social Work, Social Work in Health Care, and Children and Youth.
University of Colorado Colorado SpringsConcentration-Based (partial information)Trauma concentration confirmed. Reported emphases include behavioral health, military social work, child welfare, and school social work.
Colorado State University PuebloNot fully confirmedNo official concentration list confirmed for 2026. Secondary sources reference behavioral health, healthcare, military social work, child welfare, and school social work.
Colorado Mesa UniversityAdvanced GeneralistNo formal concentrations. Practice areas include psychiatric and mental health, child welfare, addictions, medical social work, school social work, clinical and private practice, trauma and violence, police and co-responder work, and community organizing.

What Colorado MSW Graduates Earn, and Whether the Debt Is Worth It

Every dollar you borrow for your MSW has to be repaid with interest. Before you commit to a Colorado advanced standing program, you need a rough idea of what you'll earn after graduation so you can decide whether the monthly loan payments are manageable. This section is a practical worksheet, not a static chart. It walks you through the free, public tools that let you build your own debt-versus-earnings snapshot for the specific metro area and population you want to serve.

Step 1: Find Real Colorado Wages on BLS.gov

The Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics tool is your first stop. Navigate to the OEWS homepage, select "Colorado" as the state, and then choose a metro area like Denver-Aurora-Lakewood, Colorado Springs, or Fort Collins. For each social work occupation, the table shows 25th, median, and 75th percentile annual wages. The median is the midpoint: half of workers earn more, half earn less. The 25th percentile gives you a conservative floor for starting salaries, while the 75th percentile shows what experienced clinicians and supervisors can reach.

The most detailed metro data covers Denver-Aurora-Lakewood. According to the BLS occupational wage data for Social Workers, All Other, the 25th percentile annual wage is $47,770, the median is $63,770, and the 75th percentile reaches $87,730. Mean annual wages, which BLS sometimes reports separately, are not the same as medians. For the same group in Denver, the mean is $58,570, pulled lower by outliers on the lower end. For a debt calculation, the median is the more useful benchmark: older metro figures from the May 2022 Denver-area wage estimates for Healthcare Social Workers list a median hourly wage of $29.40 (roughly $61,150 annually) and $25.38 hourly (about $52,800) for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers, but those lack the 25th and 75th percentiles you need for a full picture.

Because the OEWS tool lets you plug in exact SOC codes, you can compare roles you might actually take: Child, Family, and School Social Workers (21-1021), Healthcare Social Workers (21-1022), Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers (21-1023), and Social Workers, All Other (21-1029). If the metro you care about is not Denver, check the most recent annual release: data for smaller metros sometimes lags or gets combined. For a quick reality check, the Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook reports a national median of $61,330 for social workers in 2024, but Colorado wages are influenced by cost of living, license level, and practice setting.

Step 2: Match Those Numbers to Your Program's Cost

With salary figures in hand, pull up the official cost-of-attendance page for each Colorado advanced standing MSW program you are considering. Note tuition and fees specifically for advanced standing, not the full-length track. Then estimate what you will actually borrow. Use the program's published average graduate debt or, if that is missing, the College Scorecard's median debt for social work graduates at that institution.

A quick way to gauge whether the debt load is reasonable: take your projected monthly payment under a standard 10-year federal repayment plan and compare it to your expected net monthly income using the 25th percentile wage for your target role and metro. If that payment eats more than 10% to 12% of your monthly take-home, the degree could strain your finances, particularly in higher-cost Front Range cities.

  • Tuition: What the advanced standing program charges for in-state or online enrollment.
  • Fees and health insurance: Often buried in the fine print; factor them in.
  • Average graduate debt: Check program fact sheets or the federal College Scorecard.
  • Living expenses: Housing and transportation in Denver, Boulder, or Colorado Springs can shift the math dramatically.

Step 3: Ask the People Who Already Did It

BLS data gives you broad occupational bands, but real starting salaries can vary by employer, license status, and clinic type. Contact the career services office or alumni network at the programs on your list. Ask for recent Colorado placement data and typical starting salary ranges. The Colorado chapter of the National Association of Social Workers and the State Board of Social Work Examiners sometimes publish regional salary surveys and employment trend reports that reveal what new MSWs actually earn in specific counties.

A half-hour conversation with a recent advanced standing graduate or a faculty field liaison will surface the nuances that federal data misses: signing bonuses at community mental health centers, productivity-based pay differences, or the jump in earnings once you secure your LCSW. Use those grounded numbers to pressure-test the BLS percentiles, and write your own debt-worth-it equation before you enroll.

From MSW to Licensed Social Worker: Colorado's Licensure Pathway

Colorado licenses social workers through DORA (the Department of Regulatory Agencies). The path from your advanced standing MSW to independent clinical practice follows a clear sequence, but the requirements at each stage differ significantly. Here is exactly what to expect.

Six-step Colorado licensure pathway from MSW completion through LSW to LCSW, requiring 3,360 supervised hours and the ASWB Clinical Exam

Recent Articles

In this article
Share This:
LinkedIn
Reddit