What you’ll learn in this article…
- Six CSWE accredited schools offer advanced standing MSW programs in Kansas.
- Completion takes one year full time or two years part time.
- Kansas social work jobs are projected to grow 10% through 2033.
Six CSWE-accredited Kansas schools now offer advanced standing MSW tracks that compress a two-year degree into 33 to 38 credit hours, letting BSW holders finish in one year of full-time study rather than two. KU, K-State, Pitt State, Fort Hays State, Washburn, and Newman University each waive the foundation-year curriculum for applicants with an accredited BSW, a 3.0 GPA floor, and recent coursework in research and practice methods.
The real tension is fit, not eligibility. Tuition ranges from under $9,000 to over $35,000, field hours span 500 to 600, and delivery formats split across online, hybrid, and campus options.
LMSW licensure is the end goal regardless of path, and Kansas's tightening social work labor market rewards deliberate choice over convenience.
Best Advanced Standing MSW Programs in Kansas: Ranked for 2026
Six Kansas schools field eight advanced standing MSW listings this year, with one university offering separate clinical and macro concentration tracks and another carrying distinct online and hybrid listings for the same Wichita-based degree. The cards below compare curricula, institutional outcomes, and the details that matter most when you are moving from BSW to MSW on an accelerated timeline. Keep this page open while you research: the differences between these options come down to concentration fit, cost, and how field hours are arranged.
| Rank | School | Location | Net price | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| #1 | University of Kansas | Lawrence, KS | $12,000 – $27,000/yr | Students choosing between clinical and macro tracks | |
KU's advanced standing MSW stands apart as the only Kansas pathway offering both Clinical Practice and Macro Practice concentrations, giving BSW graduates a genuine choice between direct practice and systems-level work. The 38-credit curriculum runs on a summer-start calendar, and practicum placements are arranged within a one-hour drive. University-wide federal data show ten-year median earnings near $62,000, and KU's institution-wide six-year graduation rate is roughly 69 percent. The same curriculum also reaches students at additional Kansas locations, which widens access without leaving the state.
| |||||
| #2 | Kansas State University | Manhattan, KS | $12,000 – $26,000/yr | Working professionals wanting Saturday class formats | |
The K-State option at the Salina campus runs in partnership with KU's School of Social Welfare, so students get a K-State experience while earning a nationally recognized MSW. The clinical concentration centers on evidence-based intervention with individuals, families, and groups. Full-time students can finish in one year and may qualify for the Integrated Health Scholars award, worth $25,000. K-State's institution-wide six-year graduation rate is about 71 percent, with ten-year median earnings near $57,000 in federal data.
| |||||
| #3 | Pittsburg State University | Pittsburg, KS | $9,000/yr | Southeast Kansas students wanting close-knit cohorts | |
Pittsburg State anchors its advanced standing MSW in Southeast Kansas, where the program was designed to ease a documented shortage of clinical social workers. The curriculum emphasizes evidence-based practice, and the compact weekly schedule keeps class time manageable for working students while they complete agency-based practicum hours. Pitt State's institution-wide six-year graduation rate is roughly 57 percent, and federal data put ten-year median earnings near $51,000. A close-knit cohort and hands-on faculty support round out the experience.
| |||||
| #4 | Fort Hays State University | Hays, KS | ~$5,000/yr (est.) | ||
Fort Hays State keeps its advanced standing pathway lean at 36 credit hours and runs rolling admissions, so qualified BSW graduates can apply on their own timeline. The curriculum spans mental health, medical, and forensic social work, with simulated therapy and courtroom training during on-campus intensives. FHSU's institution-wide six-year graduation rate is about 48 percent, and federal earnings data show a ten-year median near $49,000. For cost-conscious students, this is one of the most accessible routes to a Kansas MSW.
| |||||
| #5 | Washburn University | Topeka, KS | $11,000/yr | ||
Washburn differentiates itself with concentrations no other Kansas program offers: Healthcare and School Social Work, plus a joint degree option with the law school. The 33-credit advanced standing track can be completed in three terms, and a 12:1 student-faculty ratio keeps classes small and personal. Graduates achieve a 79 percent licensure pass rate, and the institution-wide six-year graduation rate is about 53 percent. Federal data place ten-year median earnings near $50,000.
| |||||
| #6 | Newman University | Wichita, KS | $8,000/yr | ||
Newman brings a trauma-competent lens to advanced standing MSW study, a meaningful differentiator for BSW graduates heading into mental health, crisis, and veterans services. The 34-credit curriculum includes 600 hours of supervised field practicum, with placements spanning medical facilities, schools, and community agencies. Newman's institution-wide six-year graduation rate is about 53 percent, and university-wide federal data show a ten-year median near $55,000. Flexible pacing and multiple entry points suit working professionals in the Wichita area.
| |||||
Accelerated MSW, One-Year MSW, Advanced Standing: The Same Program
If you scanned the ranked list above and noticed schools using different labels for what looks like a similar program, you are not imagining it. Advanced Standing MSW, Accelerated MSW, One-Year MSW, and 12-Month MSW are, in most cases, four names for the same pathway: a shortened master's route that waives the foundational year for applicants who already hold a CSWE-accredited BSW.
Why the naming varies
Schools brand this pathway however their program office prefers. Kansas institutions such as the University of Kansas and Wichita State University use "Advanced Standing" on their own MSW pages. Other schools, including online options open to Kansas residents, package the same idea under time-based labels like "12-Month MSW" or intensity-based labels like "Accelerated."
One caveat worth flagging: "accelerated" is not always synonymous with advanced standing. A handful of schools use "accelerated" to describe a compressed track for students without a BSW. Always confirm the prerequisite before applying.
Who does not qualify
The shortened pathway is narrower than the marketing suggests. You are not eligible if:
- Your bachelor's is not CSWE-accredited: A general BA or BS, even in social work from a non-accredited program, does not count.
- Your BSW is too old: Most Kansas programs cap recency at 5 to 7 years from conferral.
- Your degree is in a related field: Psychology, sociology, and human services majors do not qualify, no matter how relevant the coursework feels.
If any of those describes you, the traditional two-year MSW (roughly 60 credits) is your route. Advanced standing runs about 30 to 39 credits and finishes in roughly one year of full-time study.
Kansas Advanced Standing MSW Tuition Comparison
The table below compares published tuition rates, institution-wide average net price after financial aid, and median graduate debt for every CSWE-accredited advanced standing MSW program in Kansas. All figures come from the U.S. Department of Education (IPEDS and College Scorecard, 2023 reporting year). The cheapest option for in-state students is Fort Hays State University at $4,949 per year in program tuition, while the University of Kansas carries the highest in-state cost at $11,971, a spread of roughly $7,000. Note that the net price shown is an institution-wide average after grants and scholarships, not a guarantee for every MSW student.
| School | City | Format | In-State Tuition | Out-of-State Tuition | Avg. Net Price (Institution-Wide) | Median Graduate Debt | Est. 10-Year Monthly Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fort Hays State University | Hays | Hybrid | $4,949 | $12,745 | $12,569 | $21,000 | N/A |
| Newman University | Wichita | Online | $8,224 | $8,224 | $19,971 | $20,801 | N/A |
| Pittsburg State University | Pittsburg | Hybrid | $9,470 | $20,302 | $15,784 | $18,969 | N/A |
| Washburn University | Topeka | Campus | $10,787 | $20,467 | $15,280 | $18,127 | N/A |
| University of Kansas | Lawrence | Campus | $11,971 | $27,146 | $18,059 | $21,000 | N/A |
| Kansas State University | Manhattan | Hybrid | $12,089 | $25,824 | $19,406 | $21,250 | N/A |
Questions to Ask Yourself
Do you need a fully online program, or can you travel for hybrid campus intensives?
Kansas schools split between fully online delivery and hybrid models that require weekend or week-long on-campus residencies. If you live outside driving distance of Lawrence, Wichita, or Pittsburg, an asynchronous online option is often the only realistic path.
Is your BSW recent enough to meet each school's recency window?
Most Kansas advanced standing programs require your BSW to be completed within the last five to seven years. If you graduated longer ago, target schools with more flexible recency policies or be prepared to complete refresher coursework.
Are you drawn to clinical direct-practice or macro-level community and policy work?
Clinical tracks prepare you for LCSW-track therapy roles, while macro concentrations focus on program administration, advocacy, and policy. Choose a school whose specialization catalog matches the career you actually want, since switching tracks mid-program is rarely allowed.
Can you complete 400 to 500 field hours while working full time?
Advanced standing practicum requirements are compressed into a single year at full-time pace. If your current job cannot flex around 16 to 20 weekly field hours, look for part-time pacing options that stretch the program across 18 to 24 months.
GPA and BSW Recency Requirements by School
Every CSWE accredited advanced standing MSW program in Kansas requires a BSW from a CSWE accredited institution, but the finer details of admission vary. The table below lays out minimum GPA thresholds, BSW recency windows, and other notable requirements for the 2026 admissions cycle. Where a recency window is not publicly specified, confirm directly with the program, as policies can change year to year.
| School | Minimum GPA | BSW Recency Window | Other Notable Admission Requirements |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fort Hays State University | 3.0 (provisional admission possible above 2.75) | Not publicly specified | BSW from a CSWE accredited program; three references; priority deadline January 15 |
| Kansas State University (Salina) | 3.0 | Not publicly specified | Resume, three references, and personal narrative |
| Newman University | 3.0 | Not publicly specified | Resume, three references, and personal narrative |
| University of Kansas | 3.0 | Not publicly specified | Resume, three references, and personal narrative |
| Washburn University | 3.0 | Not publicly specified | Resume, three references, and personal narrative |
| Wichita State University | 3.0 | Not publicly specified | Resume, three references, and personal narrative |
Field Hours and Practicum Expectations for Advanced Standing Students
The tension for most advanced standing students is real: you want the shorter path to your MSW, but field practicum hours don't shrink as dramatically as coursework does. Programs credit your BSW-level field experience by waiving the foundation-year placement, but you still owe a full advanced-year practicum, and that means real hours in a real agency while you juggle graduate coursework.
What Kansas programs require
Only two Kansas MSW programs publish clear, current advanced standing field requirements that we could verify for 2026:
- Fort Hays State University: 500 total practicum hours, completed across 2 semesters at 250 hours each1. Regular-standing students, by contrast, complete roughly 900 hours across 4 semesters, so advanced standing cuts field time nearly in half.
- University of Kansas: 512 total practicum hours, structured as a single placement carried across 2 consecutive semesters and worth 14 credit hours2.
Both figures land in the range typical for CSWE-accredited advanced standing tracks, and both schools require you to complete the placement in an approved agency setting.
For Newman University, Kansas State (Salina), Washburn, and Wichita State, current advanced standing field-hour requirements are not published in a form we can verify here. Request the field manual or MSW handbook directly from the program before you commit, hours and semester structure can shift year to year.
Employment-based practicum options
If you already work in a social service agency, you may hope to do your practicum at your job. Be cautious: neither Fort Hays State nor KU has an established employment-based practicum option for advanced standing students12. Some programs will consider a placement at your workplace only if the role, supervisor, and learning activities are meaningfully distinct from your paid duties, and approval is case by case.
Planning around the hours
At 250 to 256 hours per semester, expect roughly 16 to 20 field hours per week during a standard fall or spring term. That is a part-time job on top of graduate coursework. Full-time employed students should plan calendar time, and often a reduced work schedule, before enrolling.
What Advanced Standing MSW Graduates Earn
Program-level earnings data for Kansas advanced standing MSW programs are not yet available through federal reporting. However, institution-level figures offer a useful benchmark. Earnings differences across Kansas schools reflect several factors: graduates working in the Kansas City metro typically out-earn peers in rural placements, clinical licensure (LSCSW) commands higher pay than macro-track roles, and employer type matters since hospital and VA settings tend to pay more than nonprofit agencies.

Online Vs. Hybrid Vs. Campus: Format Options at Kansas Schools
Kansas advanced standing MSW programs spread across three delivery formats, so your daily schedule, commute, and work commitments should steer the choice. Fully online coursework suits BSW graduates who live far from a campus or hold full-time jobs, while hybrid and campus models add structured face-to-face learning that some students prefer for clinical skill development. Every program still requires in-person field education regardless of how courses are delivered.
| School | Delivery Format | How It Works | Part-Time Option | Full-Time Timeline | Part-Time Timeline |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Kansas (Lawrence, Edwards, Online) | Hybrid | Live online classes every other week combined with Saturday meetings; multiple campus locations available | Yes | 12 months | 24 months |
| Kansas State University Salina / KU Partnership | Hybrid | Online learning paired with in-person classes on alternate Saturdays at the Salina campus; conferred through KU School of Social Welfare | Yes | 12 months | 24 months |
| Fort Hays State University | Online (coursework) | Synchronous online sessions with faculty plus three-day clinical intensives on campus; field education completed in person locally | No | 12 months | Not offered |
| Washburn University | Mixed (campus and online courses) | Some courses offered on campus in Topeka and some online; working adults typically attend one day per week | Yes | 24 months | Up to 48 months |
| Newman University | Online | Coursework delivered online with day and evening class options; 600 hours of field practicum completed in person | Yes | Varies by start term | Varies by start term |
| Pittsburg State University | Hybrid | One day per week on campus in Pittsburg with remaining coursework completed remotely | Yes | 12 months | 24 months |
Specializations and Clinical Vs. Macro Tracks
Of the six advanced standing MSW programs in Kansas, three offer distinct concentration tracks in clinical and macro practice: the University of Kansas, Kansas State University, and Washburn University. The remaining schools provide a focused, generalist-to-clinical pathway without a separate macro option.
Concentration Offerings Across Kansas Programs
- University of Kansas: Choose between Clinical Practice and a macro concentration, with full-time and part-time pacing. Practicum placements match the selected focus.
- Kansas State University: Offers two concentration options, including Clinical Social Work Practice and a macro alternative. The hybrid format blends online work with Saturday classes.
- Washburn University: The only Kansas school featuring a Healthcare Concentration alongside a traditional clinical track. Both paths include field practicum and small class sizes.
- Pittsburg State University: The curriculum carries a clinical focus for direct practice, with no macro track. Students complete a one-day-per-week campus schedule and a community-based practicum.
- Fort Hays State University: A generalist advanced standing pathway with 500 clinical hours and synchronous online sessions, no formal concentration selection.
- Newman University: The fully online program emphasizes trauma-competent practice and clinical topics, preparing graduates for direct-care roles.
Generalist vs. Specialized Tracks
Programs without concentration options, such as Fort Hays State and potentially Pittsburg State, still provide a CSWE-accredited generalist foundation with embedded clinical content. The difference lies in elective depth: specialized tracks let you target a practice area through dedicated coursework and matched field placements, while generalist tracks cover a broader range of competencies.
How Track Choice Intersects with Kansas Licensure
CSWE accreditation covers the entire MSW, so any concentration or generalist curriculum qualifies you for the LMSW exam after graduation. The LSCSW clinical license, however, requires a clinical concentration or equivalent coursework per Kansas Board of Behavioral Sciences regulations. If you aim for independent clinical practice, selecting a named clinical track gives you the most direct path to meeting those requirements. Macro-focused graduates can still pursue the LSCSW, but may need additional post-MSW clinical courses or supervised hours to satisfy board evaluation.
Completion Timelines: Full-Time and Part-Time Pacing
Advanced standing MSW students in Kansas can finish in as little as one year on a full-time track or spread coursework across two years part-time. The pacing you choose depends partly on which school you attend: some programs mandate a summer start for full-time students, while others offer more flexible entry points. Here is how the options compare across the four Kansas schools with confirmed timeline details.

Kansas social workers are in high demand: the Bureau of Labor Statistics projects a 10% job growth rate through 2033, well above the national 6%. For BSW graduates, an advanced standing MSW unlocks rapid entry into this expanding field.
Kansas LMSW Licensure After an Advanced Standing MSW
Kansas recently reduced its diagnosis-and-treatment continuing education requirement, a change that took effect July 1, 2025, and signals the state's ongoing effort to streamline licensure maintenance for social workers.2 If you are finishing or have just completed an advanced standing MSW, understanding the full licensure pathway now will save you weeks of back-and-forth with the regulatory board later.
Step 1: Apply to the BSRB for LMSW Licensure
The Kansas Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board (BSRB) governs all social work licenses in the state. To qualify for the Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW) credential, you must hold an MSW from a CSWE-accredited program, pass the ASWB Masters-level exam, and clear a background check. Your application packet needs to include an official transcript, proof of degree conferral, and three professional references. At least two of those references must come from licensed social workers holding an LMSW or higher credential, and one must be a field or practicum supervisor.
Submit your application at least six weeks before you plan to register for the exam.3 The BSRB will not authorize your exam eligibility until the application clears review, so building this lead time into your graduation timeline is essential. Application fees apply, though the exact amount can shift between renewal cycles, so confirm the current fee directly on the BSRB website before submitting.
Step 2: Pass the ASWB Masters Exam
The required exam for LMSW is the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Masters-level examination. This is a 170-question, four-hour test covering human development, assessment, intervention planning, and professional ethics. Once you pass and the BSRB confirms your application, you can practice as an LMSW in Kansas immediately.
Step 3: Maintain Your License
Kansas licenses renew on a 24-month cycle. You will need to complete 40 hours of continuing education each renewal period, including at least 3 hours in professional ethics and 3 hours in diagnosis and treatment.2 That diagnosis-and-treatment requirement was lowered from its previous threshold as of July 2025, giving licensees slightly more flexibility in how they allocate their CE hours.
Step 4: Pursue LSCSW for Clinical Practice
The LMSW is your entry-level master's license, but if you want to diagnose, treat, and practice clinical social work independently, you will eventually need the Licensed Specialist Clinical Social Worker (LSCSW) credential. This requires completing supervised post-graduate clinical practice under a BSRB-approved supervision plan. According to the BSRB, you must accumulate a minimum of 3,000 hours of supervised clinical experience over no fewer than 24 months. Your clinical supervisor must hold an active LSCSW in Kansas with at least two years of post-licensure clinical practice. After completing supervision, you sit for the ASWB Clinical-level exam.
The distinction matters: the LMSW lets you practice social work at the master's level right away, while the LSCSW unlocks independent clinical authority. Plan your post-graduation employment accordingly, ideally securing a position where a qualified LSCSW supervisor is already on staff and willing to oversee your clinical hours from day one.
A Note on Out-of-State MSW Graduates
Kansas does not offer blanket reciprocity for social work licenses earned in other states. However, applicants who hold a current social work license elsewhere can apply to the BSRB and may benefit from an expedited review if their credentials align with Kansas requirements. You will still need to meet the same exam, degree, and background check standards. If you earned your MSW through an online program based outside Kansas, confirm that the program holds CSWE accreditation, as the BSRB requires this regardless of where you physically completed your coursework.
Common Questions About Kansas Advanced Standing MSW Programs
Below are the questions BSW graduates ask most often when exploring advanced standing MSW programs in Kansas, with answers that reflect the latest available information. For details not listed here, contact each school's admissions office directly.







