What you’ll learn in this article…
- Illinois field placement hours range from 480 to 900 across programs.
- Net costs span roughly $10,974 to $19,398 per year.
- Illinois projects 357 new social worker positions opening by 2026.
Can a BSW actually cut an MSW timeline in half? In Illinois, it can. CSWE-accredited advanced standing programs let BSW holders skip foundational coursework and finish in roughly 12 months, often at significantly lower total cost than the traditional two-year track.
Illinois offers multiple accredited options across online, campus, and hybrid formats, with net annual costs ranging from about $10,974 to $19,398 depending on the institution. Field placement requirements vary from 480 to 900 hours, and that variation has real consequences for how quickly you reach LCSW licensure after graduation.
The accelerated timeline is the draw, but the differences between programs in cost, format, and clinical preparation are where the real decision lives.
Illinois Advanced Standing MSW Programs Worth Considering
Illinois offers more advanced standing MSW options than most applicants realize, and they do not all cost the same or lead to the same career. The eight schools below all admit CSWE-accredited BSW holders into a shortened master's pathway, ranging from large urban research universities to small child-development specialists. CSWE accreditation is the baseline for licensure eligibility in Illinois, so confirm each program's current standing in the CSWE directory before you apply.
| Rank | School | Location | Net price | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| #1 | University of Illinois Chicago | Chicago, IL | ~$18,000/yr (est.) | Chicago BSWs targeting urban clinical practice | |
The University of Illinois Chicago is the largest and most established advanced standing MSW in this group, built for CSWE-accredited BSW graduates who want to move straight into specialized graduate coursework. Five specializations cover child and family, mental health, organization and community practice, school social work, and social work within justice systems, all taught through a trauma-informed, strengths-based lens in an urban setting. Students complete 630 hours of field instruction, and interdepartmental concentrations plus a joint MSW/MPH add room to specialize further. Federal data places median earnings for former students near $68,700 ten years after entry, with median graduate debt around $16,700. CSWE accredited
| |||||
| #2 | Illinois State University | Normal, IL | $10,000/yr | Aspiring school social workers who need part-time study | |
Illinois State University narrows its advanced standing MSW to school social work, preparing graduates for practice with students from pre-kindergarten through age 22 under an Illinois State Board of Education approved curriculum. Advanced standing students finish in one year full time or two years part time, always starting in summer, and complete a full academic year of school-based practicum inside a cohort that keeps faculty mentorship close. The program is built around the School Social Work Content Exam and the Professional Educator License endorsement. Federal data shows median earnings for former students near $62,100 a decade after entry and median graduate debt around $20,500. CSWE accredited
| |||||
| #3 | Aurora University | Aurora, IL | $16,000/yr | Working adults drawn to online coursework | |
Aurora University offers one of the more flexible advanced standing routes in the state, moving students through 30 credit hours in as few as 12 months. Ten tracks include addictions, child welfare, school social work, forensics, and trauma-informed practice, and employment-based internships with more than 50 partner organizations let students complete field hours where they already work. The school social work track is designed around Illinois practice settings, which matters if that endorsement is your goal. Former students show median earnings near $58,700 ten years after entry, with median graduate debt around $20,300. CSWE accredited
| |||||
| #4 | Chamberlain University-Illinois | Addison, IL | $15,000/yr | ||
Chamberlain University is the most explicitly digital option here, a fully online 30-credit advanced standing MSW that condenses graduate training into one accelerated year with coursework available around the clock. Students choose among medical social work, crisis and response interventions, or trauma, then complete a guided practicum in a real agency alongside simulation work with virtual clients. Military benefits and employer tuition reimbursement are both supported, which suits students already in the workforce. Verify the program's current CSWE accreditation directly with the Council on Social Work Education before applying, because Illinois licensure eligibility depends on it. No entrance examMilitary benefitsEmployer tuition reimbursementFully online option
| |||||
| #5 | Dominican University | River Forest, IL | $19,000/yr | ||
Dominican University keeps advanced standing cohorts small and the timeline tight, with the MSW finishable in nine months of full-time study or two years part time. Six tracks include aging, adulthood and gerontology; children, youth and family; and health and well-being, each with electives that personalize the degree, and every student completes 600 clock hours of fieldwork plus an Advanced Diversity course. Federal data shows median earnings for former students near $60,300 ten years after entry, with median graduate debt around $24,400. CSWE accredited
CSWE accredited
CSWE accredited
| |||||
| #6 | Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville | Edwardsville, IL | $10,000/yr | ||
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville takes an advanced generalist approach, moving advanced standing students through advanced micro and macro practice, policy analysis, applied research, and a capstone project. Full-time students finish in one year and part-time students in two, with field instruction each semester. The degree is aimed squarely at the licensed clinical social work path, and electives may be drawn from outside the department. Federal data places median earnings for former students near $56,300 ten years after entry, with median graduate debt around $20,500. CSWE accredited
| |||||
| #7 | Governors State University | University Park, IL | ~$11,000/yr (est.) | ||
Governors State University is the value-oriented pick for many Illinois BSW holders, offering a 32-credit advanced standing MSW with small classes and a social justice foundation. Concentrations in school social work and children and family practice sit alongside child welfare and mental health subspecialties, and afternoon and evening scheduling is designed around students who work during the day. Graduates are set up for LSW licensure and, with supervised experience, the LCSW. Federal data shows median earnings for former students near $58,200 ten years after entry and median graduate debt around $18,600. CSWE accredited
| |||||
| #8 | Erikson Institute | Chicago, IL | ~$14,000/yr (est.) | ||
Erikson Institute is the child-development specialist in this group, letting eligible advanced standing students waive up to 21 credit hours and finish in as little as 12 months, or spread the work across 20 months. Two concentrations, clinical practice with children, adolescents and adults, and infant and early childhood mental health, are taught by faculty known nationally in early childhood work, and more than 100 field placement sites are available. Eligible students can receive a $15,000 to $25,000 grant, and self-reflective supervision seminars run alongside coursework. Institutional earnings and debt figures are not reported for Erikson in the federal data used here. Fully online option
| |||||
Accelerated MSW, One-Year MSW, Advanced Standing: The Same Program
A typical advanced standing MSW in Illinois requires 30 to 39 credits and finishes in about one calendar year: the same accelerated pathway many schools label differently. The University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign calls it an "Advanced Standing MSW," Aurora University offers an "Accelerated Advanced Standing MSW," and Loyola University Chicago describes its option as a one-year, full-time advanced standing program. Despite the variety, each refers to the shortened master's route designed exclusively for graduates of a CSWE-accredited BSW program.
Different Names, Same Pathway
Schools in Illinois use multiple terms to signal the same reality. "Advanced standing" is the most common, appearing in program titles at UIC, UIUC, and Illinois State University. Some programs shorten it to "one-year MSW" or "12-month MSW" because that is the realistic timeline for full-time students who start with advanced placement. A few, like Aurora, prefix it with "accelerated," which can cause confusion: not every program labeled "accelerated" is an advanced standing option.
What Makes It "Advanced Standing"?
The pathway is defined by the credit reduction. A traditional MSW in Illinois typically spans 60 credits and two years; advanced standing shaves off roughly half the coursework because the foundation curriculum (human behavior, policy, practice, research, and a foundational field placement) was already completed in the BSW. Students enter directly into the concentration year, diving into clinical or macro specialization without repeating content they mastered as undergraduates. This translates into a one-year, full-time commitment at schools like UIUC and Loyola, or slightly longer if a part-time option is available.
When a BSW Does Not Qualify
Not every bachelor's degree opens this door. A non-CSWE-accredited BSW, a BSW earned more than five to seven years ago (depending on program recency rules), or a bachelor's in psychology, sociology, or human services does not meet the conditions for advanced standing. Those applicants enter the traditional two-year MSW, which grants no credit for previous study. If you are unsure whether your BSW qualifies, check the program's specific admissions page; the distinction hinges entirely on CSWE accreditation.
Choosing Between Online and Campus Advanced Standing MSW Programs in Illinois
One of the first decisions you will face is whether to pursue your advanced standing MSW online, on campus, or through a hybrid format. The answer depends on your work schedule, where you live in the state, and how much you value face-to-face collaboration. Here is how the Illinois programs break down across the dimensions that matter most to BSW graduates ready to accelerate their careers.
| Dimension | Online | Campus | Hybrid |
|---|---|---|---|
| Illinois programs in this format | Aurora University is the standout option, offering a fully online advanced standing MSW with flexible start dates in fall, spring, and summer. | UIC (Chicago), Illinois State (Normal), Dominican University (River Forest), Governors State (University Park), and SIUE (Edwardsville) all deliver their advanced standing tracks primarily on campus. | SIUE blends online and on-campus coursework, making it the closest hybrid model among Illinois programs. |
| Schedule flexibility | Highest flexibility. Aurora offers daytime, evening, and asynchronous online courses, letting you maintain employment while finishing in one or two years. | Less flexible overall. Most campus programs hold classes during set daytime or afternoon and evening blocks. Governors State, for example, schedules afternoon and evening sessions to accommodate working students. | Moderate flexibility. SIUE pairs some online coursework with required in-person sessions, offering a middle ground for students who can travel to Edwardsville periodically. |
| Field placement logistics | You arrange placements locally, which is ideal if you live far from a campus. Aurora partners with over 50 organizations statewide for fieldwork, and employment-based internships may be available. | Placements are typically coordinated through the university's regional network. UIC places students in urban Chicago settings, while Illinois State focuses on school social work placements across central Illinois. | SIUE coordinates field instruction each semester through its own network, though some online components reduce how often you must be on campus between placement days. |
| Peer networking and faculty interaction | Interaction happens through discussion boards, video conferencing, and virtual office hours. You can build connections, but spontaneous hallway conversations are limited. | Strongest networking environment. Small class sizes at programs like Governors State and Dominican (with a 12 to 1 student-faculty ratio) foster close mentoring relationships and cohort bonding. | A blend of both. You get some face-to-face cohort time along with online collaboration tools. |
| Tuition (advanced standing program) | Aurora charges approximately $16,463 for the full advanced standing program, the same rate for in-state and out-of-state students. | Ranges widely. In-state tuition runs from roughly $10,218 at Illinois State to $18,500 at Dominican. UIC lists approximately $17,550 in-state and $27,748 out-of-state for the advanced standing track. Public universities like Governors State ($10,666) and SIUE ($10,488) offer some of the most affordable options. | SIUE's hybrid tuition matches its campus rate of approximately $10,488, making it one of the most affordable paths in the state. |
| Can you complete the degree entirely online from Illinois? | Yes. Aurora University's CSWE-accredited online advanced standing MSW can be completed fully online, with local field placements arranged wherever you live in Illinois. | No. These programs require regular on-campus attendance for coursework. | Not entirely. SIUE requires some on-campus sessions alongside its online components. |
Questions to Ask Yourself
Can you attend classes during the day, or do you need evening and weekend options to keep working?
Some Illinois programs run full-time daytime cohorts that wrap up in about a year, while others offer evening or weekend scheduling that stretches longer. Choosing the wrong format can force you to quit a job or delay graduation.
Is your BSW recent enough to meet your target school's recency requirement?
Most Illinois programs require a BSW earned within the last five to seven years, but a few extend that window to ten years or accept a portfolio review. If your degree is older, narrowing your list to the most flexible programs saves wasted application fees.
Are you planning to pursue clinical licensure, and does the program's field placement structure support that?
Illinois LCSW candidates need supervised clinical hours that begin in the right setting. Programs vary in whether they guarantee clinically focused placements or lean toward macro practice, so confirming alignment now prevents a detour after graduation.
Would you pay higher tuition to finish faster, or is keeping total cost low the priority?
A 12-month accelerated program may carry a higher per-credit rate than a part-time option that takes 18 to 24 months. Weigh lost wages and loan interest against sticker price to find the combination that truly costs less overall.
What Does an Advanced Standing MSW Cost in Illinois?
Based on institutional net price data, advanced standing MSW students at ranked Illinois programs face net costs ranging from roughly $10,974 to $19,398 per year. Public universities consistently land below private options on effective price, but the sticker price alone rarely tells the whole story. The advanced standing track cuts required credits nearly in half compared to a traditional MSW, which directly shrinks the tuition bill before aid enters the equation.
The Public-Private Price Gap
The cost spread between public and private programs is significant but not absolute. At the public University of Illinois Chicago, the advanced standing program carries an in-state tuition of $17,550 and an out-of-state rate of $27,748, yet the institution-wide average net price for all graduate students sits at $10,974 once grants and scholarships are applied. Governors State University, also public, charges a flat $10,666 in tuition for the entire advanced standing sequence, regardless of residency, and posts a net price of $12,329. On the private side, Dominican University lists a uniform tuition of $18,500 and shows a net price of $11,745, meaning its aid packages effectively close the gap. Aurora University and Illinois State University both report higher net prices, at $18,838 and $19,398 respectively, reflecting tuition rates of $16,463 and $10,218 (in-state) plus fees.
The takeaway: do not dismiss a private school solely on sticker price. Generous institutional aid or targeted scholarships can narrow or even reverse the public-school advantage, especially for students who bring strong academic profiles or commit to high-need fields.
Credit-Hour Savings
Every advanced standing MSW in Illinois leverages the foundational coursework you already completed in a BSW program. That truncation typically means you need only 30 to 32 credit hours, compared to 60 or more in a traditional track. Dominican University, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, and Aurora University each structure their advanced standing program at 30 credits. Governors State requires 32. Since most programs charge by the credit hour, those 30 fewer credits translate directly into savings of $10,000 to $20,000 before you factor in living expenses or opportunity costs. Verify the exact per-credit rate and any mandatory fees with the program, because a low per-credit charge can be offset by high semester fees.
Debt After Graduation
Median federal loan debt among graduates offers a clearer picture of what students actually borrow. At UIC, the median debt stands at $16,704, the lowest in the group. Governors State follows at $18,618. Aurora University, a private institution, reports median debt of $20,318, nearly identical to Southern Illinois University Edwardsville at $20,500 and Illinois State University at $20,482. Dominican University posts the highest median debt at $24,411. These figures suggest that lower sticker prices do not always produce the lightest debt loads; living costs, program length, and financial aid strategy all shape the final number. If minimizing debt is your priority, UIC’s combination of a competitive net price and below-average borrowing makes it a standout.
How to Pin Down Your Real Cost
Because net price data is institution-wide, not program-specific, your actual cost as an advanced standing social work student may differ. Request a financial aid estimate directly from each program, specifying that you are an advanced standing applicant and providing your FAFSA information. Ask whether assistantships, stipends, or field-placement-related aid is available specifically for MSW students. Public universities often extend in-state tuition to residents of neighboring states through reciprocity agreements, which can cut the out-of-state premium for border-county applicants. Finally, compare the total program cost, not the annual rate: a program that takes nine months full-time may carry a higher per-semester price but lower overall expense than a two-year part-time option.
Cost Snapshot: Tuition and Debt Across Illinois Advanced Standing MSW Programs
Tuition for advanced standing MSW programs in Illinois varies widely depending on whether you attend a public or private institution. The chart below pairs each school's in-state tuition with its median graduate debt so you can weigh sticker price against how much graduates actually borrow.

Admissions Requirements for Illinois Advanced Standing MSW Programs
Understanding what Illinois advanced standing MSW programs ask for upfront saves you time and helps you assemble a competitive application. While each school has its own flavor, the core ingredients are remarkably consistent, and a few subtle differences can make or break your eligibility.
Universal Advanced Standing Requirements
Every CSWE-accredited advanced standing MSW in Illinois shares three non-negotiable prerequisites. First, you need a Bachelor of Social Work from a CSWE-accredited program: no exceptions.1 This credential signals you have already mastered foundational social work knowledge. Second, your BSW must include a documented field practicum, proving you have supervised direct-practice experience. Third, most programs set a minimum undergraduate GPA, typically around 3.0, though some use holistic review that considers upward grade trends or relevant work history. For example, Governors State University explicitly lists a 3.0 GPA floor,3 while other schools may weigh professional background more heavily if your GPA falls slightly below.
How Recent Must Your BSW Be?
This is the question we hear most often, and the answer is not one-size-fits-all. Illinois programs vary in their BSW recency windows, the maximum number of years since your degree was conferred. University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign and University of Illinois Chicago both use a 7-year window.12 Illinois State University allows up to 8 years.4 Not all schools publish a recency policy publicly; we could not verify windows for Loyola University Chicago or Aurora University at the time of writing. Broader directory summaries suggest a 5-to-10-year range across the state, but individual program rules matter most. If your BSW is older than a program's window, don't assume you are disqualified. Some schools consider exceptions based on continued social work practice, post-BSW coursework, or passing a qualifying exam.
Application Materials: What You'll Need
- Official transcripts: From every college you attended, showing your CSWE-accredited BSW and GPA.
- Personal statement: A focused essay detailing why advanced standing fits your career goals, often with prompts about social justice or practice values.
- Letters of recommendation: Typically two or three, from academic references or professional supervisors who can speak to your readiness for accelerated graduate work.
- Resume or CV: Highlight social work, related experience, including internships, volunteer roles, and employment.
- Writing sample or supplemental essays: Some programs ask for an additional piece on a specified topic; check each program's admissions page for unique requirements.
Deadlines and Admissions Cycles
Most advanced standing MSW programs in Illinois admit one cohort per year, usually starting in summer or fall. Illinois State University has a firm February 1 deadline for fall entry.4 and school social work advanced standing applicants must apply for the summer term by the same date. Governors State University listed summer and fall 2026 deadlines in published materials,3 though the exact cutoff dates were not specified in the source we reviewed. University of Illinois Chicago's deadline was not publicly available in our research. Fixed deadlines are the norm because advanced standing cohorts are intentionally small; missing a cycle often means waiting a full year. Rolling admissions, if offered, are rare for these tracks. With so much riding on a single application window, mark your calendar and submit early.
Related Articles
How Long Does an Advanced Standing MSW Take in Illinois?
Some Illinois advanced standing MSW students finish in a single focused year; others spread the degree across two or more years to balance work and family obligations. The path you choose shapes your daily rhythm, your finances, and how soon you step into licensed practice.
Full-Time: The One-Year Fast Track
Most full-time advanced standing programs in Illinois are designed to be completed in one calendar year1, roughly two to three semesters, compared to the two years a traditional MSW demands. This accelerated pace is possible because advanced standing students have already covered foundational social work content in their BSW program, so the curriculum jumps straight to advanced coursework and specialized field experiences.
At the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, for instance, a full-time advanced standing student can earn the degree in one year2. DePaul University also offers a full-time track that rounds up to roughly one year1 for advanced standing candidates. In both cases, the compressed schedule means you move through course material quickly and need to be ready for a demanding weekly commitment.
Part-Time Tracks: Slower but Sustainable
Three Illinois schools with advanced standing MSW programs offer part-time study: UIUC, Loyola University Chicago, and DePaul. Part-time timelines vary widely, typically ranging from two to four years1 depending on course load and program architecture.
UIUC's part-time advanced standing path generally takes two years2. Loyola's online MSW is structured as a part-time-only program, yet it still wraps up in one year3 because it runs four continuous semesters with no summer break, a distinctive model that blends the lighter weekly load of part-time study with the speed of a full-time schedule. DePaul offers both speed options, but its part-time advanced standing track can extend up to four years1, giving students maximum flexibility to pace coursework around employment.
Start Terms and Cohort Cycles
Your start date affects not just when you begin but the total length of your degree because some Illinois programs admit advanced standing students only once or twice a year. Loyola's program admits only in the spring3, so if you miss that window, you wait a full year. UIUC normally offers summer or fall starts, but the Fall 2026 advanced standing cohort is part-time only and launches in Spring 20272, a departure from the usual cycle that underscores the need to verify entry terms directly with each school before applying.
Factors That Can Extend Your Timeline
Even within a program's stated length, individual circumstances can add time. If your BSW coursework does not fully align with the program's prerequisites, you may need bridge courses before starting advanced-level classes. Similarly, students who require additional field hours to meet Illinois licensure requirements or who change a placement mid-program may see their graduation date shift by a semester. When you plan, assume the shortest timeline is for a student who enters with no gaps in their preparation and moves through field placements without interruption.
Field Placement Hours Required by Each Illinois Program
Field placement is one of the most time-intensive components of any MSW program, and the hours required in an advanced standing track vary significantly across Illinois schools. The range spans from roughly 480 hours to 900 hours depending on the institution and specialization. Importantly, these are new practicum hours completed during your MSW program. Your BSW field placement hours are not double-counted here; CSWE accreditation standards treat advanced standing field education as a separate requirement building on your undergraduate foundation. The table below is the only side-by-side comparison of advanced standing field hours across Illinois programs available online.
| School | Advanced Standing Field Hours | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| University of Illinois Chicago | Up to 900 hours | The advanced clinical practice option requires a minimum of 900 hours across one to two semesters of field placement. The broader advanced standing pathway lists 12 to 24 credits of field education, with total program credits ranging from 44 to 56. Exact hours may differ depending on the chosen concentration. |
| University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign | Approximately 480 to 560 hours (one semester) | Advanced standing students complete a single semester internship, typically a 14-week extended summer placement. The internship accounts for 12 to 24 of the 44 total credit hours required. Actual clock hours depend on weekly scheduling and the specific track selected. |
| Loyola University Chicago | 600 hours | The online MSW advanced standing program requires one internship totaling 600 hours. The program is 23 credit hours, making it one of the more streamlined options in the state. |
| Aurora University | 600 hours (minimum) | Aurora requires a minimum of 600 hours for advanced standing internships regardless of track. Students pursuing the school social work specialization in Illinois also meet the 600-hour standard. The generalist internship at the BSW level, by contrast, is 450 hours. |
| Illinois State University | 350 hours per semester | The school social work advanced standing plan lists 350 practicum hours per semester at 22 to 25 hours per week. Students completing two semesters of specialized practicum would accumulate approximately 700 total hours, though the published plan does not specify a single combined total. |
From Advanced Standing MSW to Illinois LCSW: The Licensure Path
Advanced standing compresses your MSW into roughly one year, but the post-degree licensure journey remains the same as it is for traditional MSW graduates. After earning your degree from a CSWE-accredited program, you must pass the ASWB Clinical exam, accumulate 3,000 supervised clinical hours (with at least four hours of supervision per month under an Illinois-licensed LCSW), and then apply to IDFPR for your LCSW. Working full time at 30 to 40 hours per week, most graduates complete those hours in approximately 17 to 23 months. The advanced standing pathway saves you a year on the front end of your career, but it does not shorten or alter the supervised practice requirement on the back end.

Illinois is projected to add 357 new Child, Family, and School Social Worker jobs by 2026, a 2.02% increase in just two years. Advanced standing MSW graduates can meet this demand sooner, entering the workforce with a BSW already in hand.
Common Questions About Advanced Standing MSW Programs in Illinois
Below are answers to the questions BSW graduates ask most often when exploring accelerated MSW options in Illinois. Each response draws on published admissions data and program details from CSWE-accredited schools across the state.







