What you’ll learn in this article…
- Full-time jobs fit part-time tracks, which stretch to about two years.
- CSWE's 2022 standards require 900 field hours across BSW and MSW.
- Employer-based placements count only with school approval before the semester starts.
Advanced standing MSW students often face a version of the same arithmetic: five graduate classes plus a 20-hour weekly practicum before the first paid shift. A recent r/SocialWorkStudents thread showed a student with exactly that schedule asking where income could possibly fit.
Because the degree is compressed into roughly a year, each work choice hits with concentrated intensity. A burnout-prone social-work job can undercut the placement, while intake, billing, verification of benefits, or county SUD counseling roles often convert into a promotion after graduation. The placement, not the paycheck, is the variable hardest to recover.
The Short Answer: Full-Time Work Is Possible Mostly on Part-Time Tracks
A one-year advanced standing track and an extended part-time track look like the same degree on paper, but they make very different demands on your calendar. Holding a full-time job through a full-time, 12-month advanced standing program is generally unrealistic. Keeping that job becomes workable, and for many students routine, on an extended or part-time advanced standing track that spreads the same credits and the same field hours across two or three years.
The Compressed-Timeline Tradeoff
Advanced standing exists because your BSW already covered the foundation year. What remains is the concentrated half: specialization coursework plus a full practicum, delivered in roughly 12 months. That compression is the selling point and the constraint. A part-time track takes the identical requirements and thins them out, so your weekly load drops to something a 40-hour job can absorb, at the cost of entering the licensure pipeline a year or two later.
The Four Variables That Decide It
Before you assume either answer, price out your own situation against these:
- Enrollment intensity: How many credits per term, and whether the program even offers a part-time advanced standing option.
- Practicum hours per week: A placement scheduled at 16 to 24 hours weekly leaves very little room beside a full-time job.
- Placement timing: If your agency only supervises Monday through Friday, 9 to 5, your job has to move, not the practicum.
- Employer flexibility: Whether your supervisor will approve compressed shifts, evenings, weekends, or a temporary reduction to part time.
Why the Short Window Helps
Here is the part students underestimate. If you choose the one-year track and cut back to 15 or 20 paid hours, you are planning around a defined stretch of months with a known end date, not an open-ended grind. A short, deliberate income dip is easier to budget, easier to explain to an employer, and easier to recover from than three years of running at partial capacity on every front.
How Many Practicum Hours Advanced Standing Students Complete Each Week
Your field placement, not your classes, is the single biggest obstacle to holding a job during an advanced standing MSW. Total field-hour requirements at accredited advanced standing programs range from 400 to 900 hours for the specialized year, and the math of how those hours compress into your calendar determines whether work is realistic at all.
The Weekly Math by Track
Plug the same total into different timelines and the weekly load shifts dramatically. Take roughly 500 hours, which is common: finish in one year and you are looking at close to 20 hours per week during the active field terms; stretch the degree over 18 to 24 months and the weekly figure can drop toward 12 to 14; spread it across two to three years on an extended track and you may be able to keep it in the low teens.
Real program numbers confirm the one-year range. Calvin University requires 500 hours at 16 to 20 hours per week. Eastern Washington runs three quarters at 20 hours per week. Salem State's full-time plan is 20 hours per week, with a course listing citing 20 to 24. Simmons Online runs two terms at 24 hours per week plus a weekly seminar. York's full-time placement is three days per week at about 7 hours each. CSU San Bernardino sets its specialized year at 600 hours, roughly 300 per semester, or about 20 hours per week.
Why the Daytime Problem Is Real
Here is the conflict no schedule trick solves cleanly: most placements run during standard business hours. CSU San Bernardino lists field hours at 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Salem State requires internships during the business week. These are agency environments where supervisors, clients, and services operate on a daytime clock.
Evening, weekend, and block-style placements exist but are rare and never guaranteed. York describes non-daytime options as limited; CSU San Bernardino allows them only by agency exception and approval. Count on a daytime placement unless a specific school confirms otherwise in writing.
Build Work Around the Practicum
The practicum requirement is fixed; your job is the variable. Decide your placement commitment first, then slot paid work into the hours that remain, not the reverse. Before you enroll, ask each program for placement day expectations, weekly hours, and whether any evening or weekend sites are actually available to you.
CSWE's 2022 Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards set a 900-hour field education minimum for master's programs. For advanced standing students, those hours accrue across both degrees: CSWE's Interpretation Guide gives the example of 400 BSW generalist hours plus 500 specialized MSW hours. Programs set their own allocation, so confirm yours before planning work hours.
Sample Weekly Schedules by Enrollment Intensity
These are illustrative estimates, not program requirements. Each assumes about one hour in class plus 2 to 3 hours of outside study per credit, with practicum ranges consistent with the field-hours section (one student on Reddit described a 20-hour weekly practicum alongside five classes). Treat this as a planning tool: swap in your program's actual credit load and field schedule, and budget for the heaviest practicum term rather than the average one.
| Enrollment Track | Credits per Term | Class + Study Hours/Week | Practicum Hours/Week | Realistic Paid Work Hours/Week |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| One-year full-time, standard term (estimate) | 12 to 15 | 36 to 60 | 16 to 24 | 0 to 10 |
| One-year full-time, heavy practicum term (estimate) | 9 to 12 | 27 to 48 | 24 to 32 | 0 to 5 |
| Extended track, 18 to 24 months (estimate) | 9 | 27 to 36 | 12 to 16 | 15 to 25 |
| Part-time, coursework-only term (estimate) | 6 | 18 to 24 | 0 | 30 to 40 |
| Part-time, practicum term (estimate) | 3 to 6 | 9 to 24 | 16 to 20 | 20 to 30 |
Part-Time vs. One-Year Advanced Standing Tracks Compared Across Accredited Programs
Where accredited programs publish both options, the part-time advanced standing track roughly doubles the timeline, from one academic year to about two, and it spreads the same credits and field hours across that longer window so you can keep more of your work week. The CSWE program directory also lists Roberts Wesleyan University, Case Western Reserve University, and Catholic University of America with online and weekend/evening formats (Case Western adds a weekends-only format), but those listings do not publish advanced standing track lengths or credit totals. Before you build a work schedule around any program, ask the admissions office directly whether evening or weekend scheduling applies to field placement or only to coursework, because Michigan State's own details show that field hours can still be tied to weekday business hours.
| School | One-Year Track Length | Part-Time Track Length | Credit Hours | Class Format | Evening/Weekend Options |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Michigan State University | 1 year full-time | 2 years (field education in year two) | 36 credits | Primarily face-to-face; some required courses may be online | Some evening classes, though most are daytime; field placement of 16 hours weekly during business hours (8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday to Friday) |
| Quinnipiac University | 1 academic year (2 semesters) | 2 academic years | 30 credits | Online | Not stated |
| Campbellsville University | 2 semesters (as few as 9 months) | Not stated | 30 credits | 100% online | Not stated; students secure their own approved practicum setting |
Online vs. Campus Formats: What Actually Changes for Working Students
More advanced standing programs now advertise "working professional" formats, but the label hides three very different schedules, and only one of them touches your job the way you might expect.
Three Formats, Three Work Schedules
- Asynchronous online: Lectures and assignments run on your own clock, so coursework can fit around a shift, a commute, or a child's bedtime. The tradeoff is self-discipline, since deadlines still arrive weekly.
- Live online: Classes meet at set times, often weekday evenings. You can attend from your desk or car, but a 6 p.m. session can collide with overtime or a late client.
- Evening and weekend campus: Classes meet in person on fixed nights or Saturdays. Commuting eats time, yet the predictable rhythm lets you tell an employer exactly which hours you cannot cover.
The Practicum Problem Online Does Not Solve
Flexible classes are not a flexible practicum. In most programs, field placement is still in person at an agency, and agencies mostly operate during business hours. An online degree can move your lectures to midnight, but it will not move a site supervisor's availability. If you hold a full-time daytime job, the practicum is the real constraint, so plan your work hours around it, not the other way around.
Three Questions for Admissions
1. How many live sessions are required, and are they scheduled at fixed times or announced each term? 2. How many field placement hours per week are expected, and in which terms do they peak? 3. What help does the school give in finding placements with evening, weekend, or otherwise non-daytime hours, including whether your current employer can qualify?
Get the answers in writing, because verbal assurances rarely survive a change in placement coordinators. Then compare what you hear against the track comparison table above, which lays out how part-time and one-year options differ, so you can match a format to the hours you can truly protect.
Employer-Based Field Placements: When Your Current Job Can Count
Your current social work job can count toward field hours, but only when your school formally approves the overlap before the semester starts.
What Employer-Based Placement Means
An employer-based placement lets an advanced standing MSW student complete required practicum hours at the agency where they already work. For BSW graduates already in case aide, intake, or SUD counselor roles, this can preserve a steady paycheck while avoiding the scramble to fit unpaid field hours around a separate job. The appeal is obvious, but the approval process is far from automatic.
The Approval Rules That Actually Matter
Under CSWE 2022 EPAS, programs must document whether employer-site placements are permitted. If they are, employee tasks count toward field hours only when they link directly to the nine social work competencies and any program-added competencies. There is no universal paid-hour standard, minimum tenure, or blanket rule about duties, so each school sets its own conditions.2
Common approval rules include: - New learning: Field activities must go beyond your regular job duties, though some schools like Rowan permit overlapping tasks when they link to competencies. - Separate supervision: A qualified MSW field supervisor should be distinct from your employment supervisor when possible. CSWE allows the same person only if field supervision is separate and meets its standards. - Written agreement: A field education plan, proposal, or site affiliation agreement usually must be approved before hours begin.
School specifics vary. Ohio State counts only activities outside current responsibilities and requires a separate supervisor, a 30-day probationary period or equivalent, and at least 4-hour practicum increments.3 Tennessee Knoxville requires four weeks on the job, weekly supervision, and field assessment separate from employee evaluation.4 Grand Valley State requires a supervisor with a CSWE-accredited MSW and two years post-master's experience, plus one hour of supervision weekly.5 Walden requires agency administrator documentation and a weekly one-hour supervision separate from work supervision.6 Simmons caps employment-based field hours at 15 per week.7
How to Ask Your Field Office
Start by reviewing your program's field manual or employment-based placement policy. Then email your field office with your job title, agency, current responsibilities, and the new learning activities you plan to propose. Ask directly whether your employment supervisor can also serve as field supervisor, and request a written list of approval conditions. Submit any application, proposal, or affiliation agreement well before the semester. Never assume approval. Logging practicum hours at your job before written sign-off can delay your placement or invalidate those hours.
The Real Tradeoff
The financial stability is real, but role boundaries get blurry. When the same person evaluates your job performance and your field progress, conflicts of interest and burnout risk rise. Strong programs protect the learning by requiring separate supervision and explicitly delinking practicum tasks from routine employment.
Related Articles
Which Jobs Help and Which Hurt: Career-Building Work vs. Income-Only Work
In the Reddit thread, commenters pointed working students toward billing and verification of benefits (VOB) roles as remote entry points, and one warned that a social work job stacked on a social work practicum invites burnout. The original poster also found that many local postings required a license, so read job descriptions closely: a BSW can qualify you for case aide and paraprofessional roles written for bachelor's-level staff, which an MSW student without a BSW may not reach. Pick career-building work if it converts into a post-graduation promotion, and income-only work if protecting your practicum energy matters more. Pay figures come from ZipRecruiter listings published in mid-2026.
| Role | Typical Pay | Remote Availability | Practicum Burnout Risk | Post-Graduation Payoff |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Verification of benefits (VOB) specialist (career-building) | $30.09/hr (range $25.00 to $34.38) | Remote openings listed, including remote benefits verification and prior authorization roles | Low to moderate: administrative work that does not add clinical emotional load to your practicum | Insurance and authorization fluency that carries into agency, clinical, and private practice settings |
| Medical or behavioral health billing (career-building) | N/A | Thread commenters reported many remote options, with modest pay | Low to moderate: back-office work, separate from direct client care | Revenue cycle knowledge useful for supervisory and practice-management roles |
| Behavioral health intake or scheduling (career-building) | N/A | Remote roles exist but are competitive; the original poster applied without success | Moderate: client-facing work that overlaps with practicum demands | Front-door experience with behavioral health systems and referral workflows |
| County SUD counselor or case aide (career-building) | N/A | N/A | High if paired with a full practicum: the thread's clearest burnout warning applies here | Strongest conversion path: one commenter working as a county SUD counselor can apply for promotion to clinician upon graduation |
| Virtual tutor (income-only) | $28.02/hr (range $23.46 to $31.49) | Remote | Low: unrelated to social work, so it does not drain practicum capacity | Income only |
| Remote tutor, set-your-own-hours roles (income-only) | $34.38/hr (range $19.57 to $47.79) | Remote; many tutors set their own hours | Low: scheduling flexibility lets you work around field hours | Income only |
| Flexible remote tutor (income-only) | $39.81/hr (range $22.69 to $55.29) | Remote; listings include set-your-own-schedule positions | Low | Income only |
| Flex-schedule online tutor (income-only) | $18.80/hr | Fully remote; listed hours Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 8:00 PM EST | Low, though fixed daytime windows may collide with practicum shifts | Income only |
| Remote tutor, Texas listings (income-only) | $32.24/hr (range $18.37 to $44.81) | Remote | Low | Income only |
| Remote tutor, Detroit listings (income-only) | $19.16/hr (range $13.65 to $22.79) | Remote; flexible arrangements listed | Low | Income only |
How to Talk to Your Employer About a Flexible Schedule
More employers now treat schedule flexibility as a retention tool rather than a favor, which helps when you raise the topic early and with specifics. The best time to raise it is after you have an admission letter but before your practicum semester begins, with the field placement calendar in hand so you can name exact dates and hours rather than a vague request to "cut back."
A Sample Script
Keep it short and framed around a defined window:
"I've been admitted to an advanced standing MSW program that finishes in about a year. Starting in [month], my field placement requires roughly 16 to 20 hours a week during business days. I'd like to propose shifting to evenings and weekends, dropping to [X] hours, or taking a practicum-semester accommodation. This is time-limited, and I'd return to full hours after I graduate in [month]."
Three Points to Negotiate
- A time-limited arrangement: Name the start and end so your manager sees a finite change, not an open-ended one.
- A coverage plan: Come with a proposal for who absorbs your hours or how your tasks get redistributed. Solving that problem for your manager makes a yes far easier.
- A return-to-full-hours date: Tie the accommodation to graduation so the conversation ends with you staying, not leaving.
If the Answer Is No
Have a fallback ready. Ask about unpaid leave for the practicum stretch, remote hours that free up commute time, or a move to a per-diem or hourly role you can pick up around classes and field.
One caution before you commit: if your employer offers tuition benefits, read whether they carry a work-commitment or service clause. Some require you to stay a set number of months after the benefit pays out, which can quietly conflict with any plan to reduce hours or change roles once you graduate.
Questions to Ask Yourself
Could you cover rent and loan payments if your work hours drop by half during the practicum semester?
Practicum often claims 16 to 20 hours a week, so a reduced paycheck is the likely reality. If the math fails at half income, a part-time track or an assistantship deserves a serious look.
Does your program's placement office confirm any non-daytime sites in your area, or would you be rearranging your whole day job?
Most agencies host students during business hours. Get evening or weekend sites confirmed in writing before enrolling, or plan a schedule change with your employer well in advance.
Would you rather finish in one hard year or spread the workload over two to three?
A one-year track concentrates the strain into a few intense months, while a longer track lowers weekly pressure but extends the time before a pay raise or clinical promotion. Choose based on your stamina and finances.
Financial Aid, Assistantships, and Tuition Benefits That Reduce the Hours You Need to Work
Students who want to reduce paid work have two levers: earning aid through campus roles and scholarships, or borrowing federal loans to cover the gap. The federal changes that took effect July 1, 2026 make that decision starker.
Federal Loan Limits Changed in 2026
New graduate borrowers can no longer take the Federal Direct Graduate PLUS Loan; a narrow legacy window lets some continuing students keep it for up to three academic years or their program's published length, whichever ends first. For most advanced standing MSW students, that leaves Federal Direct Unsubsidized Loans at $20,500 per year, with a $100,000 graduate aggregate cap inside a $257,500 lifetime Direct Loan limit1. If you enroll below full time, your annual eligibility must be prorated based on enrolled credits in 2026-27, so check your program's full-time credit definition before you count on the maximum.
Campus Funding and Assistantships
Graduate assistantships often trade a weekly work commitment for tuition remission and a stipend, and the work tends to sit close to classes and faculty. Availability is school-specific, and some advanced standing or part-time students may be excluded, so ask the financial aid office before you scale back outside hours. Merit and need-based scholarships may also require full-time enrollment, so dropping below the threshold can reduce aid.
Employer Tuition Assistance and Service Strings
Employer educational assistance under IRC Section 127 can exclude up to $5,250 per calendar year from income for 2025 and 2026, covering tuition and even student loan payments2. Employers may prorate the benefit for part-time employees and attach conditions like repaying the money if you leave before a required service period3. That can be usable if your plan permits graduate study, but it is not guaranteed.
The One Rule
Borrow only against the real gap between income and expenses. Because an advanced standing MSW compresses the degree into roughly a year, every month you work fewer hours is a shorter span of reduced pay. Federal loans are not a blank check; run the numbers on the actual months you will be in practicum, not a hypothetical two-year program.
Because advanced standing compresses the MSW into roughly one year, the cost of a burnout-prone job is concentrated into months, not spread across years. Protect your practicum capacity first.










